Knowledge Base/Knowledge Base/Subscribers

Can I Disable Confirmed Opt-In?

AWeber - Matt H
posted this on June 28, 2012 03:19 PM

Confirmed Opt-In is enabled by default for all subscription methods in your AWeber account. It is the best way to ensure that you have both permission and the audit trail necessary for good message deliverability. Confirmed Opt-In is designated by ISPs as the best way to manage your list. It ensures that only people who want your information are subscribed, and protects you from blocking/filtering due to false spam complaints.

But What If People Don't Confirm?


Provided that you've taken the necessary steps for a good confirmation rate, you should find that although you will lose some email addresses from your list, your response rate will be comparable or even better, all without running risks of poor message deliverability.

Read our Knowledge Base article on how to improve your confirmation rate for more information.

The fact of the matter is, 10-15% of addresses submitted are mis-typed. And other people simply won't give you a valid email address:

A recent study by MarketingSherpa and KnowledgeStorm found that only 68% of users always enter a valid email address.

So, nearly a third of respondents knowingly enter bogus email addresses.

People enter addresses for all sorts of reasons. Many times it's just to see what happens next, or to try and get to your thank you page to get a bonus or download that you've placed there without requiring them to confirm.

Be sure to protect your downloads.


Quality Is As Important As Quantity


Rather than focusing on the size of your list, we recommend that you put more emphasis on qualifying and building relationships with subscribers who want to engage with your content. These are the people who will become your loyal, repeat customers.


Disabling Confirmed Opt In for Sign Up 
Form Submissions


Keeping in mind the points made above, there may be times when you decide that you do not want to use confirmed opt in for people who fill out your sign up forms. This is possible in your Aweber account, though advise using caution when disabling confirmation.

Step By Step Instructions

  1. First, click "List Settings" under the "List Options" tab.

    21664348_step01.jpg

  2. Next, click the "Confirmed Opt In" tab at the top of the page to change your confirmation settings.

    21664348_step02.jpg

  3. Finally, click the "OFF" button to disable confirmation, and click the "YES" button in the popup that appears.

    21664348_step03.jpg
 
Topic is closed for comments