Subscribers in a "Pending" status cannot be manually deleted. They will automatically be deleted after remaining unconfirmed for thirty (30) days.
Why Can't I Delete Them?
Deleting "Pending" subscribers would make them unable to confirm. It also would enable people to attempt to repeatedly send the confirmation message, which would effectively be spamming would-be subscribers.