How do I customize the Confirmation Message?

While the body of the confirmation message, including the confirmation link itself, cannot be edited, you can customize the surrounding content of the confirmation message. The surrounding content that can be customized include the subject line, the introduction, the signature line, and the page subscribers are taken to after clicking the confirmation link.

Step by Step Instructions

  1. First, you should go to the Confirmation Message page. To get there, click List Settings under the List Options tab.

    Select List Settings

    From the left hand side of the page, click on Confirmation Message.

    Click on Confirmation Message

  2. The first thing to edit on this page is the subject line of the message. You can choose one of our approved subject lines from the drop down menu provided.

    204028576_step02.png

    You can also always provide your own custom subject line for the confirmation message. To do so, click on the link provided for Request a custom subject line.

    204028576_step02a.png

    If using a custom subject line, we recommend that you mention the name of your company, as it can be a powerful tool in increasing confirmation rates.

    Keep in mind that while editing the subject (or any other area on this page), you can add the subscribers name or other personalization field by selecting it from the drop-down box.

    204028576_step02b.png

    Note: Custom subjects are reviewed by AWeber's Support Team. They need to convey two pieces of information:

    • A call to action
    • A request for previous information

    While you are awaiting approval, the subject line will show as "(awaiting approval)".

    204028576_step02c.png

    If the subject does not communicate to the recipient why they are getting the message and what they need to do with it, your subject will be declined and you'll need to submit a different one.

    Note: If you would like to change the language for your confirmation message, that can be done using the Select a language drop down menu.

    Choosing a confirmation message language
     
  3. After selecting the subject line for this message, you'll need to edit the Message content as well. You can do this by clicking "Edit message content"

    204028576_step03.png

    Or, by hovering over the entire block of text and selecting "Click to edit".

    204028576_step03a.png

    We recommend using your own introduction rather than the default. This is a great place to provide a little information about the confirmation process and explain why the subscriber should confirm.

    Editing the body section

    Keep in mind that there is a limit to the size of the introduction - it can have no more than 500 characters and must be 10 lines or less.

    Note: To revert back to default text for each section click the "Reset Content" button.

    Reset Content

    You'll also be able to edit the Signature of this message. This can be a simple sign off, or can contain additional information as a part of saying thanks.

    Edit Signature

    There is a "Reset Content" button for this section as well.

    Reset signature content option

  4. After you've finished editing the message, click "Apply" to save your changes.

    Click Apply
  5. Below the message itself, you can change the web page that people are sent to when they click that confirmation link. By default, they will go to a basic page that AWeber hosts, so it's a good idea to have a page of your own to direct them to - there you can thank them, redirect them to your web site, or tell them about the next step they should take.

    Enter the URL of the page that you would like the subscriber to be sent to after they confirm into the "Confirmation Success Page URL" field. Make sure to include the full URL, http:// and all.

    Success page URL

    Note: The "Personalize your custom success page..." checkbox can be checked if you need to pass information back to your site. If you do not want to do this, or are not sure why you would want to, you can simply leave that unchecked for now.

That's it! Once you are done making changes, be sure to click "Save Settings."

Save your settings

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk