How do I change a subscriber's message number?

Follow up messages are sent out automatically, in order, based on the time intervals you set for them.

If for any reason you'd like for a subscriber to skip a message or fall back a few or more messages, you'll need to make a change to their specific settings.

Scroll down for instructions on how to make these changes.

Why Would I Want to Change a Message Number?

There are three major reasons why you'd need to make a change:

  Send messages to subscribers as "Broadcasts Only"


If you accumulated subscribers on your list before you added any messages, they may be set to only receive broadcast messages.

Read over the knowledge base article on broadcast-only subscribers for more information on this particular scenario.

yes_check.png You add messages to your campaign you don't want subscribers to receive.


Perhaps you've added the most recent edition of your newsletter to your follow up sequence so that it's sent automatically to new subscribers. 

Or maybe you've added any message to the end of your sequence and you don't want some subscribers to receive the message(s).

yes_check.png A subscriber requests to receive multiple messages again.


Someone may reply to a message and ask you to re-send a message or messages.

If they ask for just one, we'd suggest just forwarding them a copy of one you've received.  On the other hand, if they ask to be started again in the sequence, this is a change you might consider.

Step By Step Instructions

  1. Hover over the "Subscribers" tab and click Manage Subscribers.



  2. On this page, your subscribers can be viewed below. You can choose a select field to search for a particular subscriber.



  3. When you locate the subscriber you would like to edit, click on their name. A drop down will appear with the subscriber's information. Click on the drop down menu for "Last Follow Up Received" and change the number to which message you desired.



    Note: Since "Last Follow Up Received" tracks the last message sent to the subscriber, the next message that they will receive is the message after the number that you enter (e.g. changing the "Last Follow Up Received" to 2 will cause message 3 to be sent next). In order to prevent future follow ups from being sent to a subscriber, change their "Last Follow Up Received" value to 1001.

  4. Once you're done, click the "Save" button.
Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk