How do I delete a segment?
Segmentation is a great way to send targeted messages to a group of subscribers within your list. This article will walk through how to remove a segment from your list after it is no longer being used.
Step By Step Instructions
- First, click the "Subscribers" tab and select "Subscribers."
- Next, find the segment you would like to remove from your list.
- Once you have selected your segment, click the X to the right of the segment name.
Note: This will not delete your subscribers. Deleting a segment will only remove the search criteria you have select and segment name. If you are intending to delete actual subscribers from your list, you can accomplish this task using other steps.
- After clicking "x," a window will pop over the page asking if you would like to continue deleting the segment. Click "Delete."
- Now, you will no longer see the segment listed under the "By Segment" section of your Manage Subscribers page.
Congratulations! You've successfully removed this segment from your list.
What if I need to delete a subscriber from my segment?
The way segments work is by dynamically finding all subscribers who match the specific search criteria setup for the segment.
If an individual subscriber needs to be removed from a segment, then the segment search criteria would need to contain a piece of search criteria that would omit that particular subscriber from the search. This could be accomplished by adding a search option to your segment for "Email is not [email address of the subscriber to be removed]". Then, save the new segment which would omit the subscriber you wanted removed.