Confirmed Opt-In (sometimes called Verified Opt-In or Double Opt-In) is a process by which subscribers acknowledge that they would like to join your list by clicking a link in the confirmation message. It is used to ensure that only people who want to receive your information are subscribed to your list.
There are also times, like when a subscriber makes a purchase for a product you're offering through AWeber, where confirmation is already assumed. Additional steps can create an unnecessary barrier to your content so removing it can create a smoother experience. Your subscribers will be added directly to your list where they can start receiving any automated campaigns you have set to trigger.
When confirmation is removed, make sure your subscribers are aware they are being added to a list when providing their information to you. This would be the same for submissions through a sign up form or if they make a purchase of a product which adds them to an AWeber list.
For the integrations below, confirmed opt-in would be disabled automatically:
- Shopify Deep Data Integration by Combidesk
- WooCommerce Newsletter Subscriptions
- Digital Product Delivery
- Easy Digital Download
If you still want the confirmation message sent for these submissions, AWeber can force confirmation on a list-by-list basis. To accomplish this, contact our customer support team.
For any integrations not listed above, you can disable confirmation through your "List Settings." Please note: disabling confirmation for subscribers added to your list through an integration is available for AWeber Pro users. If you are currently on our Free plan, you'll have to upgrade your account in order to have this form of confirmation disabled.
Keep in mind that moving to single opt-in from confirmed opt-in may require some other adjustments inside your account. Learn more about things to consider when changing from confirmed opt-in to single opt-in.